The Universities of Coimbra (Portugal), Alexandru Ioan Cuza of Iasi (Romania), Friedrich Schiller University of Jena (Germany), Pavia (Italy), Poitiers (Coordinator, France), Salamanca (Spain) and Turku (Finland) are proud to announce that their proposal for the creation of the Alliance “European Campus of City-Universities, EC2U” has been selected by the European Commission at the 2020 call of the pilot phase of “European Universities”.

Created in 2017, the EC2U Alliance forms a multi-cultural and multi-lingual pan-European campus consisting of seven long-standing, education- and research-led, locally and globally engaged universities. It represents a community of 160 000 students and 20 000 staff, in direct reach to more than 1 600 000 citizens.

The EC2U Alliance’s ambition is to develop an innovative space allowing mobility to flow freely between the seven universities and associated cities. This model of openness will contribute to overcome clichéd views of regional and national identities and achieve a united and stronger Europe.

The Alliance will reach this ambition by creating a pan-European campus, connected by the common European identity, contributing to the creation of a smart higher education eco-system through a new model of quality education for an inclusive civic society. This unique model relies on a multidimensional integration strategy, producing synergies from education, research and innovation, with the contribution of academic communities (students, teachers, researchers, staff), municipalities, higher education regulatory bodies, socio-economic entities and citizens.

More facts and figures can be found on the EC2U Alliance web site, at


  • Checkout our Twitter account!